March InstaFinds

T H E W I F E :

Spring has finally sprung, and I was more than happy to welcome her back. The nicer weather is giving us all kinds of feels – rejuvenation, hopefulness, and just straight joy. Not to mention it is almost like spring breathed new energy into the both of us. The Husband told me “the arrival of spring zapped energy into my cells. It’s almost like I can feel the electricity and ‘get up and go’ in my blood”. I honestly, couldn’t have said it better. So we are taking as much advantage of the nice weather as we can before it gets blistering hot and we start seeking shelter in the AC.

We have been all projects, projects, projects in the evenings and weekends. Refurbishing a vanity from the 40’s, working on the backyard, starting an herb garden, and creating a new kitchen island out of an old library desk from the 30’s – with a whole host of other projects in the pipeline on our “honey-do” list we’ve made for ourselves. Not to mention, there is nothing like enjoying some good music, watching the pups play, and a cold Topo Chico (or cocktail) in hand all whilst porch-sitting at the end of a long day.

The Husband was really pushing to have our post this week be about our projects and sharing before and after pics and all of the details but I told him that I loved him OH SO VERY, VERY DEARLY – but no one probably cared. Not everyone gets as excited about tools, woodworking, different types of joinery, or stain colors. He’s real cute and excited but I REALLY didn’t want to skip out on this month’s InstaFinds in lieu of project boringness especially since I think March’s finds are extra rad!

For any new visitors that haven’t seen our previous installments – InstaFinds is our monthly post where we share our top 10 Texas-based shops from Instagram. It has quickly become one of our (and y’alls) favorite posts.

So do yourselves a favor – scroll through our list and then go give each shop a look, peruse even more of their fantastic wares, then go give them each a follow on social media, and as always….#SHOPLOCAL, #SHOPTEXAS!

.    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

Almond Brook Crafts

Houston, Texas

“Hi everyone! I’m a momma of 2 in Houston, Texas. I love to take advantage of downtime by getting out in my shop and creating. I learned to wood turn from my dad when I was in high school. What started as a great way to bond has turned into a passion and business.”

Follow Melania at @almondbrookcrafts

.    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

Art in Motion Jewelry

Montgomery, Texas

“I found freedom and inner peace walking through and photographing nature in its rawest form.

I try to incorporate that same feeling of uniqueness in creating my own style of jewelry!  I personally cut, forge, texture, wrap or stamp to my own pieces to create unique, and most often, one-of-a-kind-treasures!

I hope you enjoy wearing my jewelry, as much as I love to create it.

Peace, Love & Creativity”

Follow them at @artinmotion_studio

.    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

Copperhead Fox Boutique

Roanoke, Texas

“Welcome to Copperhead Fox, a children’s boutique that offers personalized items along with clothing and accessories. Let me introduce myself, my name is Cristina and I am a work from home mom. I began my journey in November 2015 when my little Fox was born.


I started designing wedding stationery and started my first business (24TH Ave Designs). I wanted to do more than just design paper goods, so I decided to branch out into custom children’s accessories.


Why the name? My son has the prettiest copper colored hair, a color that you can’t buy! Whenever we go someplace people will stop and comment on the color of his hair, and that is how Copperhead Fox was born!”

Follow Cristina at @copperheadfox

.    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

Holistic Hemp Company

Fort Worth, Texas

“After a whirlwind of life events, a passion for the holistic health movement sparked in both of us. Holding very different opinions on cannabis and hemp a few short years ago, we couldn’t be more grounded in our convictions and beliefs than we are today. We want to focus our efforts on providing safe, natural and legal hemp products that promote health and wellness.

Native to Fort Worth, Texas, the Lansing sisters have always had an appreciation for plant medicine and organic living. So when modern-day practices failed them, they set out to find a better, more natural solution. Amber is a licensed CPA and Alaina holds two Masters in Economics & Business Administration. After finishing their graduate studies and securing their dream jobs, they quit. They decided it was time to make their American Hemp Dream a reality and provide holistic healing to others.”

Follow them at @holistichempcompany

.    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

Holly + Nectar

Wylie, Texas

“After being diagnosed with two hormone disorders, I started developing natural remedies for my symptoms. I just thought–there HAS to be a better, healthier, natural way to feel better and to look better. Cystic acne, migraines, cramps, and general discomfort all come with the territory for me, so two years ago I decided to try making my own treatments–and it WORKED. I learned how to treat my skin with natural anti-inflammatory methods, and I learned how to treat my body with natural aids as well. Now, I’m offering my products to the world, because if they helped me, they can surely help someone else!”

Follow Holly at @hollyandnectar

.    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

Its Succs

Dallas, Texas

“My passion is sharing my love of beauty, art, plants and sustainability. I’ve spend years designing sustainable landscapes that are beautiful, effortless and waterwise.

Succulent Landscapes: Outdoor installations of landscape art using succulents and complimentary plants for sustainable, waterwise, drought tolerant spaces.
Interior Succulents: Offering interesting ways to display your succulent art pieces as well as individual plants. “

Follow Melissa at @itssuccs

.    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

Sage + Sweetgrass

Quanah, Texas

“Healing Plants + A Passion for a Healthier Lifestyle = Sage & Sweetgrass All Natural Soaps & Healing Apothecary.”

Follow them at @sagesweetgrass

.    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

Sort of Cool

Fort Worth, Texas

“Betsy and Carl Crum have been making art together since the mid 90s.  Both attracted to beauty and form, they joined forces and began selling their wares while still in college in the great mid-90s.  

Carl is from Austin, Texas and was a mere 14 years old when he created his first 3D Photomontage in his cluttered bedroom on Valesquez.  He sold the photomontage that same week during a dinner party his mother was having and thus, an industry was born.  Carl continued to make the 3D photomontages through his years in Nacogdoches, while he was attending college at SFA.  

Betsy hails from a teeming metropolis in East Texas known as Houston County.  With access to her mother’s darkroom, Betsy found herself taking and developing pictures from a young age.  The smell of developer takes her back to a very specific place and time.

Carl and Betsy both studied film, photography and art at Stephen F. Austin and continue to take their love of all things quirky, kitschy and Texas to a level that is often copied but never duplicated.

Over the years their work has taken them all over the country.  In addition to Sort of Cool, the couple also have a documentary film company and their work on the Southwest Airlines & PBS documentary series – One Square Mile: Texas garnered them 5 Emmy awards and 14 nominations.

Sort of Cool’s work can be found at art shows across the state and online. 

Currently, they reside in a squirrel ridden TCU neighborhood of Fort Worth with their two little girls, who are also artists; along with an assortment of pets.

Since its inception in the early 1990’s,Sort of Cool and Texas Photomontage has captured the vintage signs and landmarks of the past and the contemporary icons of present day Texas.  The series includes Austin, Bryan & College Station, Dallas, Fort Worth, Houston, San Antonio, Texas, and Big Bend National Park.”

Follow them at @sortofcool

.    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

Txers Gear

“Txers are simply natives or inhabitants of TEXAS. Our purpose is to develop authentic apparel that expresses the pride and culture of Texas.”

Follow them at @txersgear

.    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

Wild Habitat

Austin, Texas

“It’s More Than Wallpaper…

For all of the nomadic travelers, freedom-loving renters and those that eschew rigidity in favor of the power of change and continual transformation.   

Wild Habitat supports your evolution.   

Your home is your story. Our patterns are thoughtfully created and curated to energize your space and to very simply, be a reflection of you.    

We are driven by the limitless power of imagination. For us, style is pushing the boundaries of comfortable taste. Our appreciation for classical design is the scaffold that elevates our modern approach to wallpaper.

Each panel is carefully crafted by us in house to ensure our quality standards are met. Made from high grade polyester fabric with an adhesive backing, our wallpaper is the modern answer for the adventurous taste-maker.”

Follow them at @wildhabitat

Leave a comment